From Whim to Reality

Ok people, this is getting real.  The moment of truth is arriving. We have been working toward this goal now for 4 years and last week we made our first down payment on the RV (see Jeff’s recent posting about our Excel Winslow 34IKE).  It really is going to be better than we ever imagined it would be.  Jeff has done all of the research and investigating on the RV and truck and we have learned so much.  Not that we won’t make mistakes, forget some things and learn others.  I’d be very interested in anyone’s RV living “lifehacks”.

The first step in making this real was to take our 7 year-old daughter out of the public school system and start home-schooling (or Parkschooling, as I prefer to call it!).  Jeff thought it would be better to keep her in until we leave but I could see that it was going to be a huge change and adjustment for the kids and I.  We needed to get this transition under our belts before the move into the RV and into a nomadic lifestyle.

Even with all of my planning it was more of an adjustment than I had even dreamed.  You know, “the best laid plans”!.  Try getting any bookwork done with this silliness!

silliness

(Admittedly, I have thrown some of the initial curricula I chose “out the window”!)  So while Jeff has handled the technical and equipment side of our life change I have been busy with the kids, researching play and education options and trying out things that I think will work for each of us.  I am so lucky to have found a wonderful mentor in my friend Grace, an experienced, successful and admired homeschooler in my own community.  She set me off on the right foot in the right direction and for that I am immeasurably thankful!  Recently I have fallen in love with the Waldorf style of education.

I have so much to share on that note and look forward to writing more and getting feedback from our followers.  I anticipate changing the Mudpie Magic page of our blog over to Parkschooling.  I am sure once I get started I won’t be able to find enough time to write all I have in my head!

I am hopeful that an ambitious person in our current community will see the potential that Mudpie Magic, the family nature club I started, has and run with that.  Until then everything I envisioned for that group is on hold or in the past as we start this new chapter of our lives.

The next step in the process will be to order our truck.  More on that coming soon!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Natasha, Parkschooling

One response to “From Whim to Reality

  1. Anonymous

    After having purchased and moved into our 5th wheel, one thing I would suggest is a couple of shake down cruises. Test everything and run it for a length of time. After we got all moved in and the cold weather hit we found out that once the furnace warms up it made a terrible noise. It is difficult to take the trailer into the service center and get it fixed and still live in it.

    You will be happy that you are getting a SRW one-ton the extra GVW will come in handy.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

